History of DepEd-NCR and Organization’s Profile

Executive Order No. 94 issued on October 4, 1947 amending the Revised Administrative Code renamed the Department of Instruction to Department of Education. On September 24, 1972, pursuant to Proclamation No. 1081 it was renamed  Department of Education and Culture (DEC). Presidential Decree No. 1 otherwise known as the Reorganization Plan (IRP) of 1972, mandated through Letter of Instruction No. 1, the establishment of Regional Offices in the country.  DEC Memorandum No. 57, s. 1975 dated May 6, 1975 was issued delineating the Plan of Action in the implementation of the IRP.  It also set forth the selection of Regional Directors and Officers-In-Charge for the regional offices of DEC.  On July 1, 1975, Dr. Pablo T. Mateo was designated as Regional Director of Region 4, which comprises Metropolitan Manila and the provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Quezon, and Aurora. On January 23, 1976Presidential Decree No. 879 was issued dividing Region 4 into two Regions, namely:  Region 4 which comprises the Metropolitan Manila area, and Region 4-A which comprise the towns of Rizal and the provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Quezon, and Aurora, Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Romblon and Palawan, and the cities of Batangas, Cavite, Lipa, Lucena, San Pablo, Tagaytay, Trece Martires and Puerto Princesa. DEC Region 4 had its office in Banawe, Quezon City. On June 2, 1978, per Presidential Decree No. 1396 Metropolitan Manila was declared and established as the National Capital Region.  Accordingly, the DEC Region 4 has become the DEC-National Capital Region. Dr. Anastacio Ramento succeeded Dr. Mateo as Regional Director upon the transfer of Dr. Mateo to the Polytechnic University of the Philippines on May 31, 1977. Meanwhile, the Department of Education and Culture  was reorganized and  renamed to Ministry of Education Culture and Sports pursuant to the Education Act of 1982.  It became Department of Education Culture and Sports (DECS) per Executive Order No. 117 dated January 30, 1987. 

It was on September 26, 1991 when the DECS-National Capital Region moved to its new two story office building located along Misamis St., Bago Bantay, Quezon City, beside San Francisco High School. Per Republic Act No. 9155 approved into law on August 11, 2001, DECS became the Department of Education to present( DepEd).   Thus, DECS-National Capital Region is now Department of Education-National Capital Region (DepEd-NCR).

DepEd-NCR is spearheaded by its Regional Director or Director IV who is being assisted to by an Assistant Regional Director or Director III. It is composed of eight Functional Divisions and the Office of the Regional Director:

  1. Office of the Regional Director Proper
    1. Legal Unit
    2. Information Communication and Technology Unit (ICT)
    3. Public Affairs Unit
  2. Curriculum and Learning Management Division
    1. Learning Resources Development Center
  3. Education Support Services Division
    1. Health & Nutrition Unit
    2. Education Facilities Section
    3. Special Programs and Projects Section
  4. Field Technical Assistance Division
  5. Quality Assurance Division
  6. Human Resource Development Division
    1. National Educators Academy of the Philippines
  7. Policy, Planning and Research Division
  8. Finance Division
    1. Accounting Section
    2. Budget Section
  9. Administrative Division
    1. Asset Management Section
    2. Cash Section
    3. Personnel Section
    4. Records Section
    5. Regional Payroll Unit
    6. Procurement Unit
    7. General Services Unit